Recent Match Report – Sri Lanka vs New Zealand, ICC World Test Championship, 1st Test

Toss elected to bat v

New Zealand’s tour began with a win at the toss and Kane WiIliamson elected to bat. Galle will favour spin and with rain forecast on all five days, batting first was likely to hand New Zealand an advantage, particularly as they named three fingerspinners in the XI – Mitchell Santner, Ajaz Patel, and Will Sommerville.

Sri Lanka also chose three spinners, with left-arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya keeping his place, chosen alongiside Akila Dananjaya. Lahiru Kumara found a place ahead of Vishwa Fernando and Angelo Mathews was back in the XI. Dinesh Chandimal missed out again.

Sri Lanka: 1 Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), 2 Lahiru Thirimanne, 3 Kusal Mendis, 4 Angelo Mathews, 5 Kusal Perera, 6 Dhananjaya De Silva, 7 Niroshan Dickwella (wk), 8 Lasith Embuldeniya, 9 Akila Dananjaya, 10 Suranga Lakmal, 11 Lahiru Kumara

New Zealand: 1 Jeet Raval, 2 Tom Latham, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Henry Nicholls, 6 BJ Watling (wk), 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Ajaz Patel, 9 Will Somerville, 10 Trent Boult, 11 Tim Southee

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *