All the courtesy now turns to the start of the second edition of PSL 2017 after an excellent player draft of the Pakistan Super League. The tournament will start from February, 2017 with the final set to be played in Lahore.

Key Players of Peshawar Zalmi: Shahid Afridi ,Darren Sammy, Tilakaratne Dilshan, Wahab Riaz. Having injured his finger during the tour of India, England opener Alex Hales has decided to rest himself and he has been replaced by West Indies batsman Marlon Samuels. Shakib al Hasan also misses out which allows former Sri Lanka opener Tillakaratne Dilshan a chance to make it to the side.

Peshawar’s captain will be the ex West Indian T20 international captain Darren Sammy. The man is known to be one of the biggest hitters of the cricket world. The captaincy was awarded to Sammy after Afridi decided to let go of the role and attention on his batting and bowling alone.

However, Sammy’s inconsistency with the bat could be a bit of an issue. Afridi’s skills as a leg-spinner might prove to be very useful with the tournament set to be played in the UAE.

Current internationals Wahab Riaz, Kamral Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez and Junaid Khan are also part of the side to a whole host of youngsters. Riaz is a very good fast bowler. Hafeez’s quality as an opening batsman is never in doubt. Akmal can be a very forceful batsman in the middle-order and is known to be more than a handful behind the wickets.

Darren Sammy, has enlisted one of West Indies’ best cricketers. After all, he led them to their first World T20 title in Sri Lanka and comes with the status of being a big hitter lower down the order.

Eoin Morgan, might not be available for the entire length of the tournament because of national commitments.

The Peshawar Zalmi side were acquired by the Haier group for $1.6 million US dollars. They have put in place some very brilliant individuals in their coaching staff. Mohammad Akram has been named as head coach. Andy Flower will be the batting coach with South African Grant Luden taking the mantle of fielding coach. PSL 2017 Peshawar Zalmi team squad is placed below.

National Players list

  • Shahid Afridi
  • Sohaib Maqsood
  • Wahab Riaz
  • Mohammad Hafeez
  • Sohaib Maqsood
  • Kamran Akmal
  • Haris Sohail
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Hasan Ali
  • Imran Khan (jr)
  • Mohammad Asghar
  • Junaid Khan

Foreign players list

  • Darren Sammy (Captain)
  • Eoin Morgan
  • Tilakaratne Dilshan
  • Shakib Al Hasan
  • Chris Jordan
  • Samit Patel
  • Tamim Iqbal